Posted by: graceunbound | July 10, 2008

Writer’s block

It seems I am suffering from a bit of writer’s block this week. Only this block hasn’t come so much in the form of mental block, it takes on the form of two small bundles of energy who are clearly feeling the effects of a summer spending all day together. Yes, most of my time this week has been spent mediating disputes between Indy and Gates.

Gates really shows remarkable patience considering that Indy has decided to use him as his own personal punching bag. After weeks of this torture yesterday he snapped and hit Indy back. All of this is wearing me pretty thin as I am constantly pulling Indy off of Gates, trying to distract him with other things, sitting him down to cool off, and sometimes just holding him with all the strength I have to keep him from flying at Gates again.

Today is peaceful because Indy has been banished sent to spend the day with Grandma at the farm. This may seem like I am rewarding his behavior, but really it means I can take Gates swimming and concentrate on him instead of trying to keep Indy from charging into the deep end. It also means that I actually get to take a breath, do some laundry, get payroll done and savor the sound of silence.

At least until the next time Gates comes up to tell me he misses Indy.

Responses

  1. I know how you feel about thinking it’s “rewarding” to let them go somewhere. 🙂 But I know too how special that makes the other one feel to have some time with just Mommy.

    Don’t you wonder how they will be when they are older – and hopefully NOT using each other as punching bags? 🙂

    Jolanthe

  2. I can’t even conceive of such a day coming! 😀

    I keep thinking “But you’re brothers! You ARE eventually going to end up loving each other, aren’t you?” For all their bickering, I think they already do in their own way…


Leave a Reply

Categories

