Posted by: graceunbound | July 13, 2008

Mission Statement

Angela over at Becoming Me is hosting a blog mission tour this week. She has a cute button to go with it and everything but I’m apparently not technologically competent enough to get the button to work. You’ll just have to go look at it on her site.

At any rate, what a fantastic opportunity for us all to really sit down and think about why we blog, as well as getting to know why others blog as well.

I’ve been giving this a lot of thought lately, because in some ways the blog I started with isn’t the blog I seem to be ending up with, but what I am ending up with is pure 100% me.

So, as I think about where I’ve been in the short time I’ve been blogging and where I’d like to go I think that this is the core of what I am about and what I am trying to convey to my readers.

MISSION STATEMENT

Everywhere we turn it seems that there is a disconnect between people. So often I hear or see words of judgement instead of words of love, support and encouragement being spoken over another. So often as women, as mothers, as people in general we are bombarded with the idea that we are ‘less than’. That creeps into our being and we start to judge ourselves by standards we were never meant to use.

The mission of Grace Unbound is to see ourselves through God’s eyes, through eyes of grace. Most often I do that by looking at my own life and my own situations. I am honest about what I am thinking and feeling because I want you to understand that grace starts with honesty, with recognizing what we are. Sometimes that comes with laughter, sometimes with tears; my prayer is that as you read this blog you will understand that you are not ‘less than’ and you are not alone, many of us walk the same paths in life.

I believe that grace comes into our lives in many forms, but that God is the author of all of it. I struggle with grace sometimes, but as grace starts to flow more and more freely I believe that we are unbound from the tight little cocoons we’ve built around ourselves to keep our hearts safe. We are unbound to live a life of connectedness with God and with others.

Responses

  1. Love, love, love this “we are unbound from the tight little cocoons we’ve built around ourselves to keep our hearts safe”. More and more the Lord is showing me all that I do to stay safe doesn’t keep me safe it keeps me lonley and hurting. Thanks for sharing…will be back to read more.

  2. I love this! Beautiful! You have such a way with words. My favorite was: “Everywhere we turn it seems that there is a disconnect between people. So often I hear or see words of judgement instead of words of love, support and encouragement being spoken over another. So often as women, as mothers, as people in general we are bombarded with the idea that we are ‘less than’. That creeps into our being and we start to judge ourselves by standards we were never meant to use.

    The mission of Grace Unbound is to see ourselves through God’s eyes, through eyes of grace.”

  3. Stopping by on the Blog Mission Tour – love your statement and the posts I have read. “That kind of Mother” made me laugh out loud – we have all had days like that! I will be back to read more 🙂

  4. What a beautiful post and reason for blogging.

    Thanks for sharing,

    Julie

  5. i’m SO glad i found you on the mission tour… wow, i know i will be back for more of your insights. i am very much in a place right now learning to reconnect to God and to those he’s placed around me, and not in a comparative way but in humility, love, and well, grace…

  6. “…to see ourselves through God’s eyes, through eyes of grace.”

    Perfect! Awesome! and Amen!!!
    Sheila

  7. a great reconnection…i love it!

  8. I absolutely love your mission for your blog, and you explain it so eloquently. There IS a disconnect between people, and I have learned that the hard way the last year and a half. God doesn’t want it to be that way! If my little blog can make a difference for me, and maybe a few other people as well, it’s worth every bit of work I put into it. I’m sure you feel the same way.

    I’m so glad we both participated in the mission tour. It is very, very nice to meet you!

  9. Very nice mission statement. I know I will enjoy getting to know you through your blog. Cindy

  10. We should speak “words of love, support and encouragement” to one another.

  11. I love the concept of grace, and I love the title of your blog! Great mission statement.

  12. I love that mission statement. Very inspiring.


Leave a Reply

Categories

