Posted by: graceunbound | August 22, 2008

The mysterious case of the missing keys

OK, I’ll confess; I was a Nancy Drew addict when I was a kid. How incredibly fascinating to sleuth around, solving mysteries by finding just the right clue at the right time. I still love the mystery genre, mostly light reads without too much gore. Give me an intrepid female sleuth any day.

 

Unfortunately I’m not as good at sleuthing as the heroines in my books. My car keys have completely vanished, leaving me totally bewildered because HOW could they vanish when I had to have them to drive the car home? So they must be in my house, right? And yet, no amount of searching has uncovered them. I guess I’ll never earn that sleuthing badge.

 

Here’s another mystery I’m trying to solve:

 

24 Now I rejoice in what was suffered for you, and I fill up in my flesh what is still lacking in regard to Christ’s afflictions, for the sake of his body, which is the church. 25 I have become its servant by the commission God gave me to present to you the word of God in its fullness– 26 the mystery that has been kept hidden for ages and generations, but is now disclosed to the saints. 27 To them God has chosen to make known among the Gentiles the glorious riches of this mystery, which is Christ in you, the hope of glory.  Colossians 1: 24-27 (NIV)

 

Christ in us, the hope of glory. Try as I might, I don’t think I’m any more likely to figure out that mystery. Christ in us. He sees my flaws, he knows my failings and yet he chooses to live in me. Not just put up with me…LIVE in me. It feels like putting a diamond ring inside a trash can. Why would you do that? Could it be, maybe, to surprise people who are expecting garbage and see a diamond ring instead? Does Christ dwell in us with all our faults and all our mess so that when others look at us, expecting to see the same things they see in everyone else they are surprised to see something different, something rare and beautiful?

 

There are plenty of days that I certainly don’t act like Christ is dwelling in me, the diamond is hidden under all the garbage I pile on top. But there is still that hope, the hope that his glory will shine through me.

 

Rejoice today, you are part of a mystery, the greatest one ever written. Christ lives in you. 

 

 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. Hi there,
    Nice post.
    I was wondering if you were ever able to find a way to use my ‘letting go’ balloon release to close out your bible study?

  2. I did, thank you! I waffled on it at first because I’m not one to put ideas out there, but I really felt like it was something to do and I think it was meaningful for the other women in the study.

    (And y’know, there’s just something about watching all those balloons float away.)

  3. I love that word-picture… a diamond ring in a garbage can!

    It is such a mystery and I’m finding that I’ve struggled more with this mystery than any other. The mystery of His love and grace. One of these days, I know it’s gonna click! Then I’ll stop trying to earn it and work for it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

