Posted by: graceunbound | September 11, 2008

Thankful Thursday

I’m fighting a cold today and just generally feeling pretty miserable, so I thought it would be a good time to recall some of my blessings. I know that I forget to do that sometimes, and I think there is something especially powerful about writing them down and seeing them in a list. It’s easy to dwell on the negative, not so easy to dwell on the positive. That is the place I want to get to though, a place where I dwell on the positive.

So, my list for today:

1.  First, as always, my husband. Amazing, patient partner; wonderful father to the boys; dedicated worker…oh, there’s too much to list about him!

2. The boys. My adventuresome duo, Gates and Indy. They make me laugh like I never thought I could laugh. Despite all the challenges of parenting, I would never, ever for a million dollars give up the joy it gives me to be their mother.

3. My church. I have never felt so much a part of a church before. We truly, truly have a wonderful group of people there. I am excited for what the future holds, excited for the continued growth.

4. I am thankful for the journey I have walked over this past year. It has not only shown me the depth of my husband’s love for me; it has also shown just the surface of the depth of grace that God has given to me. I am thankful for the ability to look back over my life and see the changes that have taken place.

5. I am so very thankful for the chance to stay home with my boys. It is a dream I never thought would come true and I have been incredibly blessed to see it happen. From being able to drop off and pick up Gates at school, to the ability to homeschool Indy for preschool I am living things that I used to think would never happen. Each day has become an adventure and for the first time in six and a half years I can honestly say I am really, really enjoying being a mother. (Not that I didn’t love them before, but there is an added enjoyment to our days now that never seemed possible before.)

OK, that’s the short list for today; because I spent quite awhile curled up with Indy and a pile of books. My voice may be gone for awhile, but my heart is full.

Responses

  1. So sweet and special.. thanks for sharing!!

  2. Very sweet. I hope you are soon feeling better.

  3. I always love to hear a mother talk about how much she enjoys her children. My favorite afternoons are spent curled up with a kid and a few (hundred) books. Isn’t it wonderful to spend our days with them? I’m so glad you get to!


Leave a Reply

Categories

