Posted by: graceunbound | September 16, 2008

Promises, Promises

I said that I was going to be more faithful about keeping up with this blog. Ha! I don’t know how some women find the time to do it! I think that my days are shrinking. Even with Gates back in school and Indy suddenly entering a phase where he will play more independently, I STILL am not posting as often as I’d like to post. I envisioned having more free time as a stay at home mom (stop laughing, all you veteran moms). But between the laundry, the endless cleaning up after children, my decision to homeschool Indy for the preschool years, trying to keep up with my bookkeeping job, putting dinner on the table and now add in Taekwondo lessons for Gates…my day has disappeared! Oh, and add in time for Bible study and somewhere there’s supposed to be some exercise; WHEW! I am ready to collapse at the end of the day. How on earth did I balance this when I was working outside of the home?

So I haven’t exactly kept my promise to myself to be more faithful about blogging.

I’m so glad that God is better at keeping promises than I am.

A psalm of praise. Of David.

I will exalt you, my God the King;

I will praise your name for ever and ever.

Every day I will praise you

and extol your name for ever and ever.

 

Great is the Lord and most worthy of praise;

his greatness no one can fathom.

One generation will commend your works to another;

they will tell of your mighty acts.

They will speak of the glorious splendor of your majesty,

and I will meditate on your wonderful works.

They will tell of the power of your awesome works,

and I will proclaim your great deeds.

They will celebrate your abundant goodness

and joyfully sing of your righteousness.

 

The Lord is gracious and compassionate,

slow to anger and rich in love.

The Lord is good to all;

he has compassion on all he has made.

10 All you have made will praise you, O Lord;

your saints will extol you.

11 They will tell of the glory of your kingdom

and speak of your might,

12 so that all men may know of your mighty acts

and the glorious splendor of your kingdom.

13 Your kingdom is an everlasting kingdom,

and your dominion endures through all generations.

 

The Lord is faithful to all his promises

and loving toward all he has made.

14 The Lord upholds all those who fall

and lifts up all who are bowed down.

15 The eyes of all look to you,

and you give them their food at the proper time.

16 You open your hand

and satisfy the desires of every living thing.

 

17 The Lord is righteous in all his ways

and loving toward all he has made.

18 The Lord is near to all who call on him,

to all who call on him in truth.

19 He fulfills the desires of those who fear him;

he hears their cry and saves them.

20 The Lord watches over all who love him,

but all the wicked he will destroy.

 

21 My mouth will speak in praise of the Lord.

Let every creature praise his holy name

for ever and ever.

 

Today, thank God for his promises for your life, both the ones that you have seen kept, and the ones that you are still waiting to see him work on. He is faithful and he keeps his promises.

Responses

  1. This is so true!!

  2. I don’t know how some women do it, either. I am worn out by the middle of the day, and by the end I am just plain useless.

    I always need the reminder that God keeps his promises and is faithful to us.


Leave a Reply

Categories

