Posted by: graceunbound | September 29, 2008

To Do

Today was one of those rare days, a weekday with my husband at home to watch Indy. My ‘to-do’ list (had I actually written it out) started out the day looking something like this:

  • Shower
  • Get Gates up and ready for school, drop him off at school
  • Come home, drink coffee and do Bible study. Have wonderful time of communion with God.
  • Plan menu for the week and make grocery list
  • Take work deposit to the bank half-way across town
  • Drop off books at library
  • Trip to Target. Do not forget ANYTHING that I need there because I don’t want to make another trip.
  • Get groceries
  • Unpack groceries
  • Preschool time with Indy
  • Make homemade spaghetti sauce
  • Make homemade granola
  • Clean house
  • Get in about 4 hours of work time
  • Solve problem of world hunger
  • Solve economic crisis
  • Exercise
  • Pick Gates up from school
  • Bake some bread
  • Pull grass out in the rock beds
  • Do laundry, including all of husbands nasty clothing from camping weekend at NASCAR
  • Make supper (potato soup, apple crisp and ice cream…all from scratch)
  • Write blog post
  • Spend meaningful time with spouse

My list as it was actually accomplished?

  • Shower (some things are non-negotiable)
  • Get Gates up and ready for school, drop him off at school (again, not negotiable)
  • Come home, drink coffee and do Bible study. Have wonderful time of communion with God. Get sidetracked writing blog post after Bible study.
  • Plan menu for the week and make grocery list
  • Take work deposit to the bank half-way across town
  • Drop off books at library
  • Trip to Target. Do not forget ANYTHING that I need there because I don’t want to make another trip.
  • Get groceries
  • Unpack groceries
  • Preschool time with IndyDecide that we are unschooling for preschool.
  • Make homemade spaghetti sauce
  • Make homemade granola
  • Clean house
  • Get in about 4 hours of work time Manage to squeeze in just over 2 hours of work in between various other tasks.
  • Solve problem of world hunger
  • Solve economic crisis But hey, they left it for me to solve tomorrow.
  • Exercise
  • Pick Gates up from school. Walk to pick him up and decide I’m multitasking my exercise. Ponder whether or not I could have had meaningful communion with God while walking to get him, thus making it a triple multi-task.
  • Bake some bread
  • Pull grass out in the rock beds
  • Do laundry, including all of husbands nasty clothing from camping weekend at NASCAR Wonderful husband does laundry without me even asking. Feel guilty for calling his clothing nasty.
  • Make supper (potato soup, apple crisp and ice cream…all from scratch)
  • Write blog post
  • Spend meaningful time with spouse (really, just as soon as I finish this post…)

Truly, that list is only a slight exaggeration of what I hoped to accomplish today. No wonder I end my days exhausted and frustrated because I haven’t accomplished everything on my to-do list. (If there’s anyone who CAN accomplish all that, please tell me…I want to know whose blogs to avoid.) Sometimes I think this little verse was tucked into the Bible just for overachievers like me.

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.”  Matthew 11:28

Yes, he was probably talking about spiritual weariness and burdens, but I know my hefty lists of things I think I ought to be accomplishing often end up burdening me spiritually as well as physically. Rest. Right now I like the sound of that.

Responses

  1. Life…lol!! 🙂

  2. I never get my to-do list done everyday. So you can visit my blog anytime. Sadly, I feel defeated and overwhelmed most of the time b/c I can’t do everything and be everything I want to be. I think there’s a picture of you and me right next to “overachiever” in the dictionary. Why, oh why, can’t we be ok with “good enough.” Life would be so much easier.

  3. I keep running into this verse this week and I wonder if God is trying to speak to me! Yours is the second blog that I’ve read it posted on and I’m thankful that it’s been floating in me little head.

    It is so hard to understand what true rest means when your a momma. Sometimes our rest comes only when we are hiding in the restroom. Ha Ha! But I’m so grateful for these gentle nudges that remind me to rest, trust.


Leave a Reply

Categories

