Posted by: graceunbound | October 20, 2008

When prayer and technology meet

In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groans that words cannot express.  Romans 8:26

And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the saints.  Ephesians 6:18

The other day I came across this website: Echoprayer. I’m still trying to decide what I think about it. If you haven’t clicked on the link, the premise of the site is that it will keep track of all of your prayer requests for you and email or text you throughout the week reminding you to pray. You can set it up to remind you to pray for Joe and Kelly at 12:00 on Thursday every week, or you can have it text you randomly.

There are aspects that I like. Keeping all of your requests in one list and being able to add notes as God answers prayers along the way, great. I like the prayer journal feature.

But something doesn’t sit quite right with me about having to be texted to remind us to pray. Because let’s be honest; if we don’t care enough about someone to pray without our phone beeping at us, is our prayer really going to be heartfelt? Or is it going to be “Oh yeah, God, help them in their problem. Amen.” We already have a supernatural text message system, called the Spirit, and I am a little loathe to replace the prompting of the Spirit with the prompting of an electronic device.

I was in the bathroom fixing my hair a little while ago when suddenly a name popped into my mind of someone from our church who has recently experienced a loss. Stop. Pray. If it had been a text message, would I have experienced the same sense of urgency? It is a lot easier to write off the reminders of an electronic device, to say we are too busy, etc. To say that it isn’t that important and we can put it off until later. But as we begin to live life in tune with the Spirit, and begin to obey those inner promptings to pray we start hearing him more and more often and our life becomes one in which we truly pray without ceasing.

Maybe I’m not enough of a techno-geek. I’d love to hear from some of you. What do you think about this? Yay or nay?

Responses

  1. Very very interesting…I tend to agree with you though…I know that I do need to be more organized and such about many areas…including my prayer life but getting a beep to “Pray Now…” doesn’t sit well…but not totally offensive to me either…sorry I am no help to you am I?

  2. No, that does help. I hope I didn’t come across as thinking the idea is totally offensive, but like you said it just doesn’t sit well. On the other hand, many churches put out prayer calendars with specific needs to pray for on each day and I wouldn’t criticize that. Now…if you could sync the prayer calendar with this software…

    I think prayer is like a muscle, the more I use it the stronger it gets. The more I listen to the Spirit prompting me to pray for someone, the more it happens. I suppose that for someone maybe this would be the beginning step, and as they grow they don’t need the beeps to remind them.

    Urg. I hope people don’t get the impression that I am this mighty prayer warrior walking around with hands folded piously in prayer all the time. Most of the time I’m not very good at the prayer thing, but I’m learning.

  3. This is interesting… I am totally in tune with technology… I love my PDA yet I don’t think I would ever use a service like this because I do like when someone or something pops in my head and I stop what I am doing to pray… then there is another side of me that thinks we I was starting out something like this might have made me use my spiritual muscles…. I am guessing I am no help either now that I think about what I just wrote…

    Good post very thought provoking!!

  4. Well, at least I am feeling in good company now that none of us can decide if we really like it or not! But it is nice to get the perspective of someone who is more into technology, I thought maybe that was the piece I was missing to really ‘get’ this idea.


Leave a Reply

Categories

