Posted by: graceunbound | November 22, 2008

A thankful heart – Health

I know, I know, I’ve been lax in coming up with new posts. I used to get so frustrated when my favorite bloggers would have long spells with no new posts. “C’mon,” I’d think,”I want to see some new and interesting thoughts.” But I suppose that like me they have days where there really isn’t anything new and interesting in their thoughts and if I could peek inside their brain it would look something like this, “OK, 5 loads of laundry to do, gotta remember to start now so that I can get the boys clothes put away before they go to bed oh and I need to start supper cooking and it has to be something quick because we have tae kwon do lessons and WHERE did I put that letter that needed to be mailed and…why am I standing here in the kitchen? What did I come in here for? Oh, and I need to email Amy and oh yeah I need to bake a birthday cake and…wait. I know there was something I’m supposed to be doing.” There just isn’t room in my thoughts some days to even keep track of where I am and why I’m there, let alone compose a thoughtful blog.

I miss it when I don’t write, though. I miss trying to take what’s in my heart and make it readable, make it into something that will touch another person the way it touched me.

So, in the holiday spirit I am going to try to post every single day between now and Thanksgiving with my thoughts on something that I am thankful for. Starting today.

A few posts back I talked about my misadventures in housecleaning. They have now expanded to a horrid strained back muscle that makes me walk sort of listing over to one side. As I tried to rush to get to the phone earlier today it suddenly struck me that I must look like one of those dogs that gets so excited their hind feet start running faster than their front feet until they are running almost sideways. That’s how I felt, anyway. It has hampered my big plans for cleaning today, and I was in a bit of pain from standing when we took the boys to a model train show this morning. Now I just stink because my husband got me an IcyHot patch when he went to get the groceries for me earlier. (Have I mentioned what a wonderful man he is?)

This isn’t the first time I’ve been in this situation, I’m sure it won’t be the last. But it makes me so very, very grateful for my health and wholeness. It’s so easy to take it for granted until we lose it, so easy to take for granted when it isn’t us dealing with lifelong health issues or physical limitations.

But mostly, as I sit here thinking of all that COULD limit me, it makes me thankful for all those I know who refuse to let physical limitations stand in their way, who refuse to just give up and say “You’re right, I can’t do it.” It makes me thankful for the friend who continues to teach and inspire young people, even though she is losing her hearing. It makes me thankful for the friend who refused to let one person’s negativity hold her down and is setting her sights on mission work despite things that some people would consider an ‘out’ from following that calling.

Yes, I’m thankful for my health. And I pray that if it were ever taken from me that I would meet the challenge head on, ready to accomplish even more. So tonight, as I fall asleep with my heating pad, I’m not going to feel sorry for my pulled muscle. It is a small thing. Such a small, small thing.

Responses

  1. I always love it when you write, no matter how mundane it may seem to you. If you’re sharing your heart it’s always good.

    Great idea to post everyday for a while. There is so much to be thankful for and I look forward to reading what’s on your list.

  2. I use to get the same way when my favorite bloggers would be missing in action.. now that I have become one I understand more than ever that when people are in the trenches of life they may not have enough time to blog or even comment.

    By the way… I love your blog!! Great idea about your thankful list.


Leave a Reply

Categories

