Posted by: graceunbound | December 28, 2008

Reflections – Part I

I have always liked New Year’s Day. Not because we do anything exciting; we don’t. In fact, it is a rare year in which I actually manage to stay awake to watch the ball drop. Somehow despite my best attempts I will find myself dozing on the couch, only to be woken by the strains of Auld Lang Syne. My first year in South Dakota I was so excited to wake up fifteen minutes before midnight (having a one month old helps). Guess what? They don’t delay the televising of the ball drop just because you live in another time zone. Yes, I had missed the moment of excitement.

For me, New Year’s isn’t about the ball dropping, or the parties (sometimes for fun my husband and I will break out the sparkling grape juice and the chips; wild and crazy people we are indeed). It is instead the passing of the old into the new. A reminder that we can be reborn, that the mistakes and trials of the past need not define our future. It is a time for reflecting on the past year, a time for reflecting on the victories and the moments we tripped and planted our faces flat in the mud.

It is a time for looking back and it is a time for looking forward; sometimes I think we need to look back first to understand ourselves before we can look forward to the shape of things to come. Forget the resolutions; how often do we really maintain that diet, or read the Wall Street Journal daily, or all the host of other things we promise ourselves? I think that resolutions don’t stick because we make them in a vacuum. We make them because we think we ought to instead of making them out of a sense of purpose, of knowing where we are headed in the coming year. There is a difference between saying “I will work out every day,” and saying “I’ve neglected my physical health in favor of…insert list here. I want to be stronger, healthier, more able to be active with my children and therefore I will…insert plan here.”

So, I’ll be taking the next few days to reflect on the past year, and to look forward to 2009. I’m excited for what is to come!

Responses

  1. I look forward to reading your reflections. Happy New Year

  2. I, too am looking forward to reading your reflections.

  3. I think this is why I love New Year’s-it always feels like a new beginning, and typically by December 31 I am in need of one! Thank you for the reminder that in order to look forward we also need to look back. I think looking back can both motivate and encourage us. It can give us understanding, which makes those resolutions purposeful. And why bother if there’s no purpose?


Leave a Reply

Categories

