Posted by: graceunbound | January 1, 2009

Reflections – Looking forward

First of all, a big thank you to Angela at Becoming Me for selecting this blog as her January blog of the month. I’m honored and humbled at the same time. Welcome to all those who have come here via her blog, and for those of my readers who didn’t, I encourage you to go check out her blog, she is well worth reading.

2008 is over and 2009 is here. As I snuggled in bed this morning with Gates and Indy I asked them what they were most looking forward to in the coming year.

“Birthday” was Gates’ reply. Being in second grade also appears to rank right up there. Apparently first grade is so last year.

“Trains” was Indy’s reply. He is a child with a one-track mind.

What am I looking forward in the coming year?

I’m looking forward to the coming weeks at church. We will be focusing on gifts discernment, both life gifts and spiritual gifts and I am excited to see what I will learn through this process. I’m praying that it will be a time of growth for the church; a time of people (myself included) beginning to stretch and develop some real spiritual muscle as we come together to be the church.

I’m looking forward to time spent with my children. 2008 had its ups and downs and sometimes I felt that in dealing with my own stuff the boys took a back seat. I am looking forward to changing that, to becoming actively involved in their lives and developing memories that they will carry with them for years to come. I’m looking forward to playtime!

I’m looking forward to continuing to develop my creativity. If you’ve read my blog regularly I think I have mentioned that my years in public accounting effectively killed off almost every creative cell in my brain. But they are coming alive again as I write, and as I find other creative outlets in my home. I am so looking forward to where it will take me in the coming year. Freelance writing? That book that I’ve always felt was locked up somewhere in my brain? I do not know where this journey leads, but I am excited to at least be on the road!

But most of all, I’m looking forward to letting God surprise me with his plan. I’ve learned that my plans generally take a back seat to his, and his is always better in the end. Sometimes it is painful to go through, sometimes I question how it could possibly be best, but in the end his plan is above and beyond anything I could imagine. He is the author of all my days and only he knows the next chapter in the book.

God’s gifts put man’s best dreams to shame.  Elizabeth Barrett Browning

Many are the plans in a man’s heart, but it is the Lord’s purpose that prevails.  Proverbs 19:21 (NIV)

Responses

  1. I found you through Becoming Me. I enjoyed visiting your site. You write beautifully!

  2. “But most of all, I’m looking forward to letting God surprise me with his plan. I’ve learned that my plans generally take a back seat to his, and his is always better in the end. Sometimes it is painful to go through, sometimes I question how it could possibly be best, but in the end his plan is above and beyond anything I could imagine. He is the author of all my days and only he knows the next chapter in the book.” I loved that ending! It’s true that when we accept and trust in God’s sovereignty we truly delight in the surprises. I love looking back over my life and picking out moments that I would have never placed in my story, but then thinking that it would not have read better any other way. God is amazing and His love for us blows my mind.

    Happy New Year to you!

  3. I am also looking forward to playtime.. I think I have allowed my son to take the backseat way too much in life especially as I was navigating through my own issues. I look forward to hearing about your progress.

    Happy New Year!!

  4. I found you through the Becoming Me site. I love your writing. God Bless and I will check back in.

  5. Your gentle spirit is very much conveyed in your writing from what I can see. Blessings to you and yours in 2009. Hopped over from Angela’s blog.

  6. “His is always better in the end.” Amen. Sometimes we forget the “in the end” part. Angela is right, you’re a gifted writer and thinker. So glad I stopped by! Nice to meet you 🙂

  7. I’ve read your blog for so long and I can say with certainty that being blog of the month is a much-deserved honor. You write beautifully and honestly and make me want to do the same. Congratulations on the opportunity you have this month to share yourself with so many. You’ll do a beautiful job, as usual.

    I am looking forward to so many of the same things for 2009. I can’t wait to experience God’s blessings AND surprises!

  8. What wonderful things to look forward to in 2009!

  9. I love that quote by Elizabeth Barrett Browning!
    I too look forward to being suprised this year.


Leave a Reply

Categories

