Posted by: graceunbound | January 25, 2009

Blink, blink, blink

Blink. Blink. That little cursor keeps blinking away on my screen, my visual cue that it’s time to write something. Here I am, still struggling with writer’s block.

Write about my day? Well, let’s see. Working backwards I have:

– Been beaten by a four year old at air hockey. I’d like to say I let him win, but that would only be partially true. A lesson in humility?

-Spent half my afternoon driving around town trying to find a place that sells a newspaper that has actual coupon inserts in it. I may just stick with my own brand of simplicity and frugality instead of subscribing to plans that work for others; it would certainly have saved me some frustration today. Sometimes frugality and simplicity are at odds with each other.

-Learned the sad, sad news that Panera Bread has discontinued my favorite sandwich. No more Portobello and Mozzarella Panini. Farewell, tasty goodness. (No, there’s no profound lesson here, move along.)

-Had a great, if somewhat confusing morning at church. Excellent speaker, excellent worship…but I am faced with the dilemma of trying to figure out when it is God prompting me to do something or if my over-active imagination has suddenly taken charge. I don’t know if I’ll ever know the answer or the point, but I know that it feels a lot better to just go ahead and do what I feel prompted to do than to stand there arguing with myself (or perhaps arguing with God).

So there you have it. My day. Sublime, mundane, God-touched, ordinary. In a way that’s what I think I love about life; God weaving himself into my days so seamlessly that even in the most ordinary moments, even when my four year old is creaming me at air hockey God is present. Not just a church God, not just a God of the BIG moments, but God of the small moments too.

Responses

  1. I like your “normal” day. It’s good for us to have them, I wish I could everyday. God is big, and he does show up in big ways, but he is also the God of the small moments, like right now while I sit here reading your words and totally understanding what you mean

    I’m with you on the coupon thing. Some of those systems are effective, but they take more work than they are worth. I’m already frugal, so why worry about being cheap?

  2. I was just reading a Max Lucado book this morning and the whole chapter was the Common Life and how it isn’t all that common when you think of Jesus being there with us every step of the way.

    Thanks for sharing.

    Ronel

  3. Amen. His presence is best experienced in the mundane, seemingly ordinary moments. I love that He is such a personal God and weaves Himself (as you so eloquently put it) into the little things of our lives. It all matters. Every bit of it. And He is at work in absolutely all of it.

  4. Ahhhh, the more I read, the more I like you.
    God of the small moments, too.
    Some day you’ll have to read my book, “Finding Joy.” That’s what it’s all about – finding joy by recognizing God in the moment.


Leave a Reply

Categories

