Posted by: graceunbound | January 31, 2009

How can I keep from singing?

then_sings_my_soul1

I whine about South Dakota winters, I will freely admit it. The cold, the wind, the cold, the snow. But there is one thing that I absolutely love, one little quirk of nature that always takes my breath away.

I’m talking about frost. Not just any frost, not the frost that accumulates on your car window and leaves you scraping it off as your fingers turn blue. No, I’m talking about those particular days when I wake up and look out the window to see frost clinging thickly to every branch, every twig, every bush. The sight never fails to amaze me. I love it when the sun shines on it and it looks like diamonds have been sprinkled through the trees. Earlier this week I got a double dose of beauty because after the frost had disappeared we got snow flurries. Light, icy snow flurries that caught the sun and made it look as if the world was a gigantic, glitter-filled snowglobe.

Even in the depths of winter there is beauty to be seen, beauty that stirs my soul and makes me want to sing, dance and praise the Maker of such beauty.

Today I’m choosing two songs because while I was looking for one of them I was reminded of the other and then I couldn’t decide between the two. Both of them are songs about singing through the troubled times; songs about God being in control. I need these songs right now to remind me that His joy is still present in my life, to remind me that He brings beauty from ashes and joy in spite of the cold. This week it was confirmed by the school district that Gates meets the criteria for Aspergers Syndrome. High functioning, but there is still the concern that at some point his drive to learn and his excellent vocabulary and memory will not be enough to compensate for his weaknesses. He excels at his school work now, but his teacher sees a day coming when he will need to operate in the areas he’s currently weak in. I worry, and I refuse to let worry take over my life. And so this week I am choosing to cling to the rock; this week I am choosing to sing.

No storm can shake my inmost calm,
While to that rock I’m clinging,
It sounds an echo in my soul,
How can I keep from singing?

What though the tempest round me roars,
I know the truth, it liveth,
What though the darkness round me close,
Songs in the night it giveth.

I can sing in the troubled times
Sing when I win
I can sing when I lose my step
And I fall down again
I can sing ’cause You pick me up
Sing ’cause You’re there
I can sing ’cause You hear me, Lord
When I call to You in prayer
I can sing with my last breath
Sing for I know
That I’ll sing with the angels
And the saints around the throne

Responses

  1. Could not get the first one to work, but i love the 2nd one!!!

  2. “This week I am choosing to cling to the rock…”
    I applaud your choice!!!
    Your words reminded me of what God has been showing me this week. I am going through Psalm 31 and He has been speaking to me about being my “Safe Place,” my Rock, my Refuge, my Fortress. Cling to Him, indeed!
    Today I read verse 7, “I will be glad and rejoice in your love, for you saw my affliction and knew the anguish of my soul.”
    Certainly the challenges with Aspergers will at times leave you feeling afflicted and full of anguish. I pray you will always cling to Him and rejoice in His love.

  3. Loved the videos and your testimony! Jesus is our solid Rock….

  4. I can’t remember for the life of me where I know this song from, but thanks for the reminder, I like it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

