Posted by: graceunbound | February 1, 2009

Super Bowl Sunday…all talk, no picture

My husband is not having a very good day, I am afraid. The picture tube on our larger tv went out yesterday. We have sound, but no picture. So, while I was asleep on the couch last night, unbeknownst to me he took our little 15 inch tv from upstairs, carried it down and set it in the cabinet where the bigger one used to dwell. I find the sight endlessly amusing, this little tv in a big cabinet, about 8-10 feet away from the sofa. He will have to watch the game with binoculars, I’m afraid. Good if you are actually AT the game…not so good when you are sitting at home.

I guess a tv isn’t much good to anyone when all you get is the sound. Without the picture you miss out on the details that make it exciting, the things that words just can’t convey. What exactly that is I’m not sure, because I don’t watch football, but I know there are touchdowns and I’m pretty sure that hearing it is not the same as seeing it.

Sometimes we fall into that problem in our daily lives. We talk a good game, we can give scripture soundbites and winning testimonies. But can people really see the picture, or has our tube burnt out? What good is a testimony about the joy of Christ if all people see when I look at them is a blank stare? What good is a scripture soundbite if they can’t see me living it out in my daily life? Am I all talk and no picture? I don’t want to be. I want to be alive in such a way that others can see Christ in me.

Responses

  1. Oh no that stinks for your hubby, all sound no picture…

    love your analogy!!

  2. So true! I don’t want to be all talk and no picture, but really, I’m sure that can be said of me more often than I want to admit.

    Two years ago our big tv went out and we had a tiny one in our huge armoire. I literally had to get up off the couch and squint to see the score on a game my husband called about. We still laugh about it. Don’t tell your husband, but tonight my husband is using a projector to watch the game. It’ll be huge. But I’m still not watching. Football=yuck.

  3. So sorry for your hubby…. but what a great analogy! My mind was going there even before I read your last paragraph. I love it! Father, help my actions to match passion… and help it all to glorify you.

  4. Amen, dear sister!
    Every morning my prayer is, “God, let me receive Your love today and be a reflection of it to the world around me.” I don’t want to be picture-less!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

