Posted by: graceunbound | February 18, 2009

Batteries and Bibles

It happened again last night. I left yoga class with my body feeling warm and relaxed and hurried to my car to hop in and get the heater going before the cold air got me chilled and tense again. Click. Nothing happened. The battery was dead again. Fortunately, (well, not really fortunately because who wants a battery that keeps dying) this has been a fairly common occurrence lately, so my husband has put the portable generator-thingy of unknown purpose in the trunk of my car. One of the functions of this piece of equipment is that it is a self-contained jump starter; no need to hunt down a willing second party and jockey their car into position, no need to remember if the red cable goes on the left or the right. Just pop the hood, put the gizmo in place, attach the cables, turn the power on and start your car. Easy. I think my record time so far has been less than two minutes. I’m not saying it is FUN to have to start a car like this every single time in 5 degree weather, but it certainly does make life easier to have that power ready and waiting to call upon.

So, that’s the battery story…what about the Bible? Perhaps you already know where I’m going with this. Wouldn’t it be nice when we run out of power during the day to have an instant source of energy to call upon? Wouldn’t it be nice to have words of comfort and peace available at our fingertips when we so desperately need them, instead of needing to go hunt down our Bible and then flip through it trying to find what we are looking for?

When I was a child I memorized chunks of scripture for our Sunday night Bible Memory club, mostly because if I didn’t take part I had to sit in the Sunday evening service with my parents and also because memorizing a certain number of verses got us discounts on a week at Bible camp. Although I’ve picked it up occasionally over the years and made a feeble effort at memorization I often find myself mentally whining “But it’s too HARD!” So memorization has fallen badly by the wayside, and much of what I did once know has now escaped me except for the stray verse here and there. (Like “Thy word have I hid in my heart that I might not sin against thee.” Umm. Ooops.)

This morning as I was thinking about my battery it occurred to me that memorizing scripture is like that portable jump start thing. No matter where I am, when I need it I have it ready and waiting. I don’t want to have to run home to find my Bible if someone asks me a question; when the kids are screaming I don’t have the time to head off to my quiet place; when I’m feeling discouraged I may not feel I have the energy to start looking up scripture. But if it is hid in my heart it is always there, ready and waiting.

Lately I’ve been inspired by Heather at A Woman’s Worth and the Memory Monday meme that she’s been taking part in. I look at how well she’s doing and I have to silence my inner six-year-old that is crying out that “it’s too hard.” I want to have that kind of access to scripture. So I’m determined to do it; I’m ready to start charging my portable energy source. I doubt I’ll be brave enough to actually tackle the Memory Monday thing, but feel free to ask me how I’m doing once in awhile, just to make sure I stay on track!

Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly as you teach and admonish one another with all wisdom, and as you sing psalms, hymns and spiritual songs with gratitude in your hearts to God.  Colossians 3:16 (NIV)

Responses

  1. I feel the same way about my attempts to memorize Scripture. I give up every time, crying “it’s too hard.” But I expect it of my kids and want it for them and for me.

    So, can I join you?

    We found a new place this week to write our memory verses: on the front of the fridge!

  2. Join on in!

    I think I am going to order some chalkboard squares from Wallies and use one to write our memory verses on, because I want my kids to start doing this too.

  3. My battery has died three times in the last two weeks… the only differences are that one of us left the lights on each time and it isn’t 5 degrees outside.

    I, too want to recharge my batteries. I always see on other blogs woman working on memory verses and I have the same 6 year old inside say, “it’s tooo hard.”

    Maybe this is the push I need to get started.

    Good luck!!

  4. I loved this analogy…I needed to read it too

  5. Perfect analogy… love it! And I’m so proud of you! You can do this!!

    I like the idea of writing the verses on chalkboard squares for everyone to see… you can all learn it together! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

