Posted by: graceunbound | March 8, 2009

Cleaning house

I’ve been looking around my house lately (instead of stumbling around with my eyes closed trying to ignore reality) and what I’m seeing isn’t pretty. In fact, it’s pretty grungy. Well, ok, my definition of grungy may differ from others but still, I simply can’t live like this anymore. It’s like one big red flashing, slightly dusty and scattered cobwebby sign saying “Your life is out of balance, girl!”

I don’t know how it happened. Probably the January rush to get year end reports done, followed by the February crunch to do all the work that didn’t get done in January, salted with a hefty dose of end-of-winter blues that make it difficult to do anything. I suppose I should be grateful that I have a good internal sensor that tells me when things are falling out of balance. And if it doesn’t work, I’ve learned that my house is a really good backup indicator.

One thing I’ve learned is that when my external life is out of balance, when it is chaotic, messy and overwhelming, my spiritual life very quickly follows suit. So this week I’m taking a breather. Yes, I know I often don’t write for a week, but when I’m not writing I’m thinking that I SHOULD be writing and worrying about losing readership. This week I am giving myself permission to not even THINK about writing. It’s about getting back into balance, cleaning my house both physically and spiritually and letting in some fresh air. (It would be nice if that fresh air were warmer than 30 degrees, but I don’t think that is going to happen.)

This is also time for me to get some fresh vision for my blog. I love blogging because I love writing and I love the connections that I’ve made through doing this, but sometimes I wonder if I am saying the same thing over and over in different ways. Granted, one can never talk about grace too much, right? I’d like to come back with fresh ideas for where this blog is going as well as how to balance that with the desire I have had for years (ok, ever since third grade) to write for publication.

So, I will be back in a week (which will coincidentally mark my one year blogging anniversary!). I’ll still try to keep up with everyone else’s blogs in that week, but in the interest of decontaminating my house I may not take time to comment. Have a blessed week everyone, and if you happen to live up this way, come see me when my house is clean!

Responses

  1. I’ve been thinking the same thing today. The house is. falling. apart. I should take a break from the computer and re-align the other parts of my life. Why is that so hard to do?

  2. good for you to stop and take a breather. enjoy your housekeeping – both internal and external. look forward to hearing what God gives you to say when you return.

  3. I’m with you! 🙂 Enjoy your breather!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

