Posted by: graceunbound | April 4, 2009

Lovely

then_sings_my_soul

 

God saw all that he had made, and it was very good. (Genesis 1:31 NIV)

Sometimes I find it easy to get caught up with only seeing the brokenness of this world we live in. The cities filled with concrete where car exhaust chokes the air, the barrenness of famine stricken lands and the hollow eyes of malnourished children, riots, rubble in bombed out neighborhoods a world away from my quiet street. I wonder, what happened to this very good world that God created?

Sin happened, and sin brought consequences. But I don’t think it changes the fact that everything God created is still very good. I need to be still, to look at the world and its people with different eyes. Wherever we go, whatever we see, when we look beyond the shattered shells we see the loveliness that God intended.

When I listen to the song ‘Lovely’ by Michelle Tumes I think not only of the things that are obviously beautiful, I also think of the hidden beauty, the kind that takes time to see. Flowers growing through the rubble, smiles on scarred faces, hands reaching out to give and to help. This world is broken, but the kingdom of God is still breaking through, and where it does there is beauty.

For more Then Sings My Soul Saturday visit Amy at Signs, Miracles and Wonders.

Responses

  1. “everything God created is still very good”
    I really needed to remember that today. Thank you.

  2. That is very pretty. I have not heard it before, thanks for sharing it.

  3. what a beautiful song. It is so calming and focusing.

    Thanks for posting it. I had never heard it.

  4. And another lovely post by you! I never heard this beautiful song before now. Thank you for sharing it.

  5. I agree, everything God created is still very good and although this world is broken, the kingdom of God is still breaking through.

    You chose a beautiful song for an excellent post. Keep up the good work.


Leave a Reply

Categories

