Posted by: graceunbound | April 22, 2009

Earth Day 2009

Over the course of this past year I’ve noticed a wonderful trend. Green living is slowly moving out of the fringes and into the lives of a larger part of the population. Last year at this time I was that crunchy oddball who brought her own bags to the store. This year on any given shopping day I see roughly 50% of shoppers bringing their own bags (thanks in a large part to the stores promoting and selling their bags at a reasonable price). This year ‘green’ cleaners are starting to take up more and more shelf space and major cleaning product manufacturers are getting in on the act. More people are experimenting with home gardens. Green is the new selling point.

I like this trend. I derive a lot of pleasure from trying to live green, to live simply, to live sustainably. If you’ve already started making changes in that area…awesome! If you haven’t, it’s never too late! We’ve been given a beautiful earth to inhabit and care for, let’s treat it like the precious gift that it is.

Today I’m compiling a list of links that I hope will help you either start or continue on your journey towards living green.

The first link is a great starting point. Simple Mom has a list of 40 simple things you can do to go greener at home. Pick one, pick a couple and get started! (I REALLY tried for that 5 minute shower this morning, that’s going to take some practice.)

Green cleaning. I’m really getting hooked on this. Yes, you can buy commercially packaged green cleaners in the store. Use caution though, that cleaner marketed by the big label cleaning company may tout it’s ‘natural’ ingredients…but natural is still a largely unregulated claim on products. An item can also be natural and still not be sustainably produced. And let’s face it, the cleaning products without the benefit of a behemoth company behind them can be pricey. Your best alternative? Make your own! I’m finding that it is much easier than I ever expected it to be, and I love being able to customize the scent of what I’m cleaning with. (In my world, everything smells like peppermint.)

Some links for making your own green cleaners:

Clean & Green  Fantastic list, broken down by area, of how to use common household items as cleaners, as well as recipes to make your own cleaners. I should note…this is NOT my site, even though we share the same not-very-common first name.

Natural cleaning recipes from Green Living Ideas.

Finally, if we really want to make a difference, we need to be teaching our children about the importance of caring for the earth. Green Living Ideas (again) has a great article on preparing kids to live sustainably.

I hope these links give you some good ideas. Take that first step, or that next step. And get out and enjoy nature!

Responses

  1. while i am not green by any stretch i do love the natural cleaning products!!!

  2. I have yet to try the clean products but now that I am switching from corporate job to working in the home I think this is something I should really look into doing and show the kids I teach!!

  3. won’t it be great to look back at your archives in ten years and laugh at how UNgreen you were on “Earth Day 2009” ‘oh ha ha I was trying to take a 5 minute shower back then…’


Leave a Reply

Categories

